Malawi’s Foreign Ministry has confirmed that all diplomats stationed at the country’s high commission in Pretoria, South Africa have been expelled from South Africa because the South African government has declared them persona non grata ( meaning an unacceptable or unwelcome person).

It is alleged that diplomats abused their diplomatic privileges. On Thursday June 10, Basotho diplomats stationed at the Johannesburg consulate had 72 hours to leave South Africa.


The ministry said diplomats and their families had three working days to leave South Africa. This decision was also taken in accordance with the 1961 Vienna Convention.

“The government of Malawi has since communicated its regrets to the Republic of South Africa. on the conduct of the diplomats concerned. The government of Malawi will take appropriate action against diplomats upon their return.

“In the meantime, the government has put in place appropriate measures to ensure the continuity of the operations of the Mission in Pretoria. “

In a statement released Friday, June 11, Dirco confirmed the expulsion of Basotho diplomats.

“This decision was taken in accordance with the 1961 Vienna Convention. The 1961 Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations is fundamental to the conduct of foreign relations and ensures that diplomats can perform their duties without the threat of government influence. host.

“However, in cases where such privileges are abused, the host country is obliged to take the necessary measures in accordance with the Convention.”

Dirco also confirmed that there are investigations into similar transgressions by other accredited missions in South Africa which are at an advanced stage and that similar action will be taken if they are found guilty.

“The Department of International Relations and Cooperation wishes to confirm that it has, on behalf of the Republic of South Africa, declared several diplomats Persona Non-Grata following a thorough investigation into their violation of diplomatic privileges. “

It is also alleged that diplomats from Rwanda, Lesotho, Ghana, Guinea, Malawi and Burundi were involved in a tax scam which was discovered by the South African Tax Service (SARS) in April of this year.

LILY: ‘There is more’: Dirco to expel more foreign diplomats in South Africa protection status

More about this article: Read More
This notice was published: 2021-06-12 07:39:12


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here