Men Cricket world cup will become one again 14 teams tournament in 2027 and 2031, the International Cricket Council announced on Tuesday.


The changes were announced as ICC, the world governing body of cricket, unveiled its global calendar of events from 2024 to 2031.

Meanwhile, the Champions Trophy, a ‘mini’ World Cup last staged in 2017, when Pakistan won in England, is set to be relaunched in 2025 and 2029 as an event for the top eight ranked international one-day teams.

Only 10 teams made it to the 2019 Cricket World Cup, which the English hosts won, up from 14 four years earlier.


But a statement released by the ICC Governing Council said: “The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup will become a 14-team, 54-match event in 2027 and 2031, while the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will expand to a 20-team, 55-match event in 2024, 2026 , 2028 and 2030.. “

The board, however, kept the Test World Championship format into the next cycle, with nine teams playing six series each to make the final every two years.

India and New Zealand will play in the inaugural WTC final in Southampton, England later this month.

The enlarged Men’s Cricket World Cup, which traditionally takes place every four years, will follow the same format used for the 2003 edition, when South Africa was the main host of a tournament won by Australia.

This will see the 14 teams split into two groups of seven, with the top three from each group progressing to a Super Six stage, followed by the semi-finals and the final.

The Men’s T20 World Cup will consist of four groups of five, with the top two from each group qualifying for a Super Eights stage, followed by the round of 16 of the semi-finals and a final.

The Trophée des Champions, faithful to its history of a lighter event, will follow the previous editions with two pools of four, semi-finals and a final.

Reducing the number of teams involved in the 2011 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand to 10 has been a controversial ICC move, with critics saying it has frustrated the game’s global growth.

Officials defended the move at the time, saying a simplified format reduced the risk of mismatch and was preferred by broadcasters.

But it looks like the current ICC hierarchy values ​​the overall advantage of global expansion, with the T20 World Cup now taking place every two years starting in 2024 and growing from 16 to 20 teams.

Following the fallout from the ICC’s decision to reduce the number of teams at the World Cup to 50 to 10, it launched the 13-team ODI Super League.

The top eight teams will qualify directly for the 2023 World Cup in India.

But by limiting the World Cup to 10 teams, the ICC helped deprive two of its 12 member nations of participating in the flagship event, major associated or junior nations such as the Netherlands, which had participated in several previous editions, also missing. .

“Confirming the ICC’s calendar of events to 2031 is an important step forward for cricket and will form the basis of our growth strategy for the next decade” said Geoff Allardice, interim director general of the ICC.

The final T20 World Cup is due to take place in October and November in India, although it may still be moved to the United Arab Emirates due to an increase in the number of coronavirus cases in the economic powerhouse of cricket.

More about this article: Read More
This notice was published: 2021-06-02 07:52:44


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here